How to Spiritually Change Your Circumstances Part 3: Praise & Worship the Lord

praise 2Through Him then, let us continually offer up a sacrifice of praise to God, that is, the fruit of lips that give thanks to His name. (Hebrews 13:15 NASB)

I know when we have troubles the last thing we want to do in the natural is praise and worship God. We’d rather have a pity party and frustrate ourselves more by trying to figure out how we will get out of the mess that we are in. Well, I have a secret to tell you… self-pity doesn’t move God, but praising Him does. You praise Him because He’s worthy regardless of the situation. You praise Him because you know that the issue is only temporary and God will bring you out victorious. You Praise Him because He’s the only true solution that you have. And you praise Him just because of who He is.

If you study the book of Psalms, King David had some terrible things happen to him. He was always on the run, people were constantly trying kill him, and his enemies wanted revenge, amongst other things. Through it all, even though he complained to the Lord, he still decided to shake off how he “felt” to worship God through it because he knew that God would bring him out. You need to take on the same attitude: let God know how you feel, and after you’ve released to Him, praise Him for the work that He’s done in the past, what He will do currently in your situation, and what He will continue to do for you because you are His child. No believer should ever have to live in fear or doubt because God is faithful to His Word.  

Believe me, your flesh won’t feel like praising God in the middle of a trial, but that’s when you have to crucify your flesh and say, “Lord, I know you are working on my situation and victory is on the way. I praise you for it in advance.” When negative thoughts come to mind, speak the Word of God which is also considered praise. Thank Him for moving on your behalf and know that when praises go up, blessings come down.  Praise your way to victory.

Meditation Scripture (s):

  • My heart is confident in you, O God; no wonder I can sing your praises with all my heart! (Psalms 108:1 NLT)
  • I will sing to the LORD as long as I live. I will praise my God to my last breath! (Psalms 104:33)
  • Praise the Lord, God our Savior, who helps us every day. Selah (Psalms 48:19 NCV)
  • O God, we give glory to you all day long and constantly praise your name. Interlude (Psalms 44:8 NLT)
  • I will praise the LORD at all times. I will constantly speak his praises. (Psalms 34:1 NLT)

*Note: My hope and prayer is that after you read this and meditate on the scriptures that you will get such a revelation that will spark further study on your own. The Bible has so much more to say that what I’ve included. There’s nothing better than studying the Word of God for yourself*

One thought on “How to Spiritually Change Your Circumstances Part 3: Praise & Worship the Lord

Leave a Reply

