How to Spiritually Change Your Circumstances (Conclusion): Be a Blessing to Someone Else

blessingBy everything I did, I showed how you should work to help everyone who is weak. Remember that our Lord Jesus said, “More blessings come from giving than from receiving.” (Acts 20:35 CEV)

I already know what you’re thinking, “I have my own problems. How am I going to help someone else?” I totally get it in the natural sense, but what God asks us to do is for our own good. When we do what pleases Him, there’s a shift in the spiritual realm. When you are focused on “you” and “your problems” you get into what the Bible calls “works of the flesh,” trying to devise ways on how “you” can take care of it, which in reality makes the situation worse. You may have had an instance where you had a situation and someone came to you with their problem, and without even being conscious of it, you were able to help them, but for the life of you “you” can’t figure yours out. That’s how God works… you help someone else and He in turn helps you. When you help others, you’re out of the way for God to be able to work freely without you interrupting His plans.

There is actually a physical joy that occurs in your body and in your spirit when you help someone else. You end up taking your mind off yourself for the benefit of someone else. The Good News Translation of Acts 10:35 says … “‘There is more happiness in giving than in receiving.’” I have witnessed this personally. In the midst of troubles that I’ve had, God wouldn’t let me handle my situation, but He anointed me to help someone else and I was blessed beyond measure in return. To witness the joy of someone else because of what God was able to do through me brings a joy that’s indescribable. Notice that I said… “what God was able to do through me.” In and of myself, in the midst of a trial, I’m a mess, but it’s through weakness that God makes us strong (see 1 Corinthians 12:9). The best part of helping others in time of need is that it is pleasing to God and He rewards us for it. This is probably the number one principle in getting your circumstances to change spiritually.  

Do you always have to help someone financially? No, of course not. You can be a voice of reason, a shoulder for someone to cry on, a listening ear, comforting company, a prayer partner…anything. The point is to get yourself off of your mind and help someone else. Whether you know it or not, no matter what you’re going through, you’re still blessed. You’re blessed to be a blessing. Don’t wait to “feel better” or for your “circumstances to change”… be a blessing on purpose. Every day ask God “who do you want me to bless today? Show me who it is and what you want me to do for them today.” There is always someone who needs help in some shape or form; so get busy in the blessing business, even in the midst of your trials, and watch your circumstances change.

Meditation Scripture (s):

  • When we have the opportunity to help anyone, we should do it. But we should give special attention to those who are in the family of believers (Galatians 6:10 NCV)
  • Do not forget to do good and to help one another, because these are the sacrifices that please God (Hebrews 13:16 GNT)
  • Do not be interested only in your own life, but be interested in the lives of others (Philippians 2:4 NCV)
  • People should be concerned about others and not just about themselves (1 Corinthians 10:24 GW)
  • We should all be concerned about our neighbor and the good things that will build his faith (Romans 15:2 GW)

*Note: My hope and prayer is that after you read this and meditate on the scriptures that you will get such a revelation that will spark further study on your own. The Bible has so much more to say that what I’ve included. There’s nothing better than studying the Word of God for yourself*

Leave a Reply

