Rock-a-Bye Worry

worry

“Can any of you add a single hour to your life by worrying?

Matthew 6:27 GW

 

How often do you find yourself worrying about a particular situation? And how often did worrying about it help? Your responses probably fall along the lines, I worry a lot and it doesn’t help the situation—it actually makes it worse. There’s a famous saying “Worrying is like sitting in a rocking chair. You go back and forth, but never get anywhere.” How true is that! One minute you believe, then the next you’re doubtful. No wonder we don’t get anywhere because God said double minded people shouldn’t expect anything from Him (see James 1:6-7). So the end result is we prevent God from moving in our circumstances, and then we’re just left with ourselves and our mess, which isn’t the best combination. If worrying can’t add a single hour to your life, how will it change your situation? Worrying leads to stress, which gives way to frustration, and the road proceeding frustration only leads to disaster.  

When you worry, you’re really scared and doubtful that God can’t handle the situation, so you decide to take it all on yourself. Excessive worrying can lead to health problems, confusion, instability, among other things; and if you’re not careful, it can drive you crazy. All this can be avoided if we let God take control of our lives. We need to pray more and worry less, but we can’t do both. Either you’re going to pray and believe God, or you’re going to worry and frustrate yourself. If you’re unsure of which one to do, go with praying—it works every time and produces results.

If we actually do what God tells us to do, we can have a relatively stress free life. Jesus tells us in His Word to come to Him if we are overburdened and He will give us rest (see Matthew 11:28-29); to cast our care on Him and let Him take care of it (see 1 Peter 5:7); to think positive thoughts (see Philippians 4:8); to be still and let Him be God (see Psalms 46:10); not to worry about anything, but to pray about everything (see Philippians 4:6); and to trust and believe in Him (see Isaiah 26:4; John 14:1). What more could we ask for? The Creator of all things gives us these instructions, but we choose to do the opposite and then blame Him when things don’t turn out right.

Things that we find useless should be eliminated from our lives and replaced with more productive things, and worrying is counted useless in the eyes of Jesus. You know what the opposite of worry is…peace! Life just isn’t worth living if you can’t have peace. Isaiah 26:3 (NLT) says, “You will keep in perfect peace all who trust in you, all whose thoughts are fixed on you!” When your eyes are on Jesus and when He’s constantly on your mind, there’s nothing to worry about. When you concentrate on His goodness, His power, His might, His wisdom, His Word, and His love, peace will come. You have to make a decision to consciously do these things instead of worrying about the issue. I’ve been a worrier for a lot of my life and I can tell you now it is so much easier to say “Lord, I give this situation to you because I can’t do anything with it. I trust you to take care of this situation, and I thank you in advance for working in my life.” Oh my goodness does that relieve a lot of stress. Do I still worry? Unfortunately, it creeps in more often than I would like it to, but I purpose to pray more. It takes time in order to break a habit, so God is working with me to help me rely more on Him than on my own understanding, which causes nothing but frustration. If He can work with me, surely He will work with you too. I’m beginning to do what the Bible says and give my cares to God. Why would I want to carry them knowing that I have a Savior who wants to take care of it for me? Why worry when I can have peace? I’m personally learning how to live in the rest of God, and His rest is so much better than busying my mind with pointless, negative thoughts, and rocking in the chair of worry.

God wants you to be stress, worry, and anxiety free. He said to give all your cares to Him, so obey and give it to Him. Only God can fix the situation anyway, so to keep your nerves calm and your emotions stable, let go and let God. You will find that letting God take care of problems that come into your life is the best thing you can do. You can’t enjoy the life that Jesus died to give you if you’re worrying all the time. Get out of the rocking chair and enjoy and live life…worry free!

Leave a Reply

