Emotional Rollercoaster

feelingsEmotions are a great thing to have because they allow us to express ourselves in many different ways. God wouldn’t have given them to us if He didn’t feel the need for them. Your emotions can be good, bad, or indifferent depending on the situation. On the other hand, if you allow negative emotions to run your life, you leave the door open for the devil. How can something as simple as how I’m feeling attract the devil? Well, it’s pretty simple. When you stew in what you’re feeling, you let your defenses down, leaving you vulnerable for attack. We already know that the devil roams around seeking someone he can devour (see 1 Peter 5:8), and the perfect opportunity for him to do that is when your defenses are down. He loves when you’re vulnerable and he takes advantage of it. This is why we have the power of God to not only defeat the devil, but to also control how we feel.  

You’re probably thinking, I can’t help how I feel; but the truth of the matter is, you CAN control how you feel. Philippians 4:19 says that you can do ALL things through Christ who strengthens you, and John 14:27 (AMP) says that Jesus has given you His peace, and said to stop ALLOWING yourselves to be agitated and disturbed. It is very possible to control something as simple as your emotions, and you do it by speaking and thinking the Word of God. Am I minimizing all the negative things that can happen to us that can cause these negative emotions? Absolutely not, but I know the more you get to know God, His nature, His character, and His power, the less you will be disturbed because you know that He will bring you out victorious. Yes, adopting this attitude will take some time to master, but with time and enough experience under your belt, you can conquer the ongoing battle with your emotions.

I personally know the dangers of allowing my feelings to run the show. I know how it gets you out of the will of God, how it exhausts you, how it changes your mood and demeanor, how it’s taxing on your body, and how it affects your relationships. I experienced it all, and what a miserable life it was. On the contrary, I also know how liberating it is to say, “God, I’m feeling a certain way about what just happened. I feel like I just want to give up, and I’m begging you to help lift me out of this mood.” When we pray like that, He comes to the rescue. We should eventually come to a point in our spiritual walk when bad things happen, we just shrug it off and go on about our day. The reality is we will only be able to get to this point by staying in the Word of God and leaning on Him for help. We have a choice to make…do we want to be miserable or do we want to be stable!

When you stew in your feelings, you get out of faith and move to unbelief, and the devil knows this. He will put every negative thought in your mind that contradicts God’s Word; and since you’re not thinking godly when your emotions take over, you start to entertain those thoughts. I’m not saying we should ignore our emotions, but what I am saying is that we need to keep them in check and bring them under our authority. Yes, we will have the natural negative reaction when we are hit with bad news or unpleasant situations, I’m not denying that, but we should be getting to the point where we get over that reaction pretty quickly, and act like we serve a God that can handle anything.

I’m going to let you in on a little secret that will hopefully change how you react to situations from now on. When you give into your emotions, you prevent God from working in your life, and here’s how. When unpleasant things happen to us, it’s so easy to complain instead of thanking God; it’s easy to doubt instead of operating in faith; it’s easy to go by what you see and feel instead of the truth in God’s Word; it’s easy to try to figure it out yourself instead of asking God for help; it’s easy to stay upset at God for “allowing” the situation to happen (which is a misconception in itself) instead of praying for His help. Notice how there are always two options…either you’re going to do what you feel, which means you’re operating in the flesh, or you’re going to do what you know is right—choose wisely. Jesus says in John 5:17 (NLT) that “My Father is always working, and so am I.”  God is working ALL the time. He has too many children on this earth with needs to just sit in Heaven and do nothing; so if He is always working, you can easily stop Him and your angels when you give into your feelings. Psalms 103:20 says that angels harken to the Word of the Lord. When you give into your emotions, I guarantee you you’re not speaking the Word of God, which means your angels have stopped working on your behalf. I know how it is because I spent most of my life having pity parties, staying angry, bitter, mad, and depressed. I lived that way for so long because I was unaware that I could control my emotions. I didn’t know that I didn’t have to bow down to them, but they had to bow down to me.

We must learn to control our emotions if we want to have a peaceful and stable life. If you haven’t realized it yet, emotions are very fickle and unreliable. One minute you can feel one way, and the next minute you can feel another way, and most of the time you can’t even figure out why. If you allow your emotions to run your life, you’re in for a rocky, lonely ride because no one wants to be around someone who is unstable and unpredictable all the time. Jesus said He has given us power (see Luke 10:19) and most importantly, He has given us His peace (see John 14:27). If Jesus can control His emotions (see Psalms 30:5), we certainly can control ours.

Make the devil have a nervous breakdown by CHOOSING to remain stable when negative things happen. He can’t handle a stable Christian who refuses be moved by circumstances, people, and most of all, their emotions.

Leave a Reply

