It’s Alive!

bible-alive-625x300

God’s word is living and active. It is sharper than any two-edged sword and cuts as deep as the place where soul and spirit meet, the place where joints and marrow meet. God’s word judges a person’s thoughts and intentions.

Hebrews 4:12 GW

When something is alive, it produces results. People may wonder, “How are words on a page alive?” 2 Timothy 3:16 says that all scripture is “God breathed,” or “inspired by God,” and where God is, there is life. The only way the Word of God won’t produce what it says is because of the level of faith and belief of the person reading and speaking it. If we really spoke the Word of God unadulterated and believed what it said, we would see more miraculous results in our lives. This is what God said about His own Word:

The same thing is true of the words I speak.
They will not return to me empty.
They make the things happen that I want to happen,
and they succeed in doing what I send them to do.

Isaiah 55:11 NCV

If you study the Word long enough and let it take root in your heart, it WILL produce results because it has no choice. God has already packed His Word full of power, so it’s up to you whether you want to believe what the Word says. It’s really foolish not to obey God because He has all the answers that He’s left for us in His Word. We just have to learn how to stop operating in what we “feel,” and what things “look” like and “sound” like because God’s Word can change all of it.  

I know that when I’m feeling a certain way, have a particular circumstance, or need some encouragement, I go to the Word of God FIRST, and then things begin to change. The Word gives me hope because I know what is written is true. There are times when I literally feel the “heaviness” lift off of me and my mood begins to change for the better. Sometimes it happens immediately, but there are other times when I have to keep saying what I read in order for it to take root and manifest itself in my life. But no matter how much work has to be done on my part, I know that God has already done what He is going to do, and now I must cooperate with Him.

Whatever situation or mood you may find yourself in, God has a Word for you. The Word is alive, active, powerful, sharp, and will cut through any situation, including sickness and disease. Don’t just think that the Word is ancient and only worked for people back in biblical times. When something is alive and active, it’s always moving and producing no matter the year or the situation. God left us the Bible because it works and it doesn’t change; and in this world that we live in, we need all the real help that we can get. God’s Word is the single most powerful weapon you have against the enemy and against your circumstances.

I encourage you to start studying and saying the Word of God for yourself. If you’re looking for answers to any situation, they’re in the Bible. You may have tried everything that you know to do to change your situation, your mood, or even your life, and nothing has worked. Give the Word of God a try! It has to produce what it says because God is not a liar (see Numbers 23:19). There is yoke destroying, bondage breaking, and life giving power in the Word of God.

3 thoughts on “It’s Alive!

Leave a Reply

