It’s Time to Get Thankful

Thankful-List

Be thankful in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you who belong to Christ Jesus.

1 Thessalonians 5:18 NLT

Life is hard, and no one said that it would be easy. We can get so focused on the things that we want and the things that we don’t have, that we lose focus of what we actually do have. If we’re sick, we focus on the ailment instead of the organs that are working properly. We’re self-absorbed, and when that is our way of life, we lose sight of God.

There is always something to be thankful for, no matter what you’re going through, but it takes a mature person to lose sight of themselves and their issues to be able to see it. For the simple fact that you are reading this, yo u should be thankful for your education…the fact that you can read, the air going through your lungs, eyes that see,  a brain that is functioning, and current technology that allows you to get the Word. That’s FIVE things right there to open your mouth and thank God for right now!  

I encourage you to keep a daily list of what you’re thankful for. Learning how to be thankful opens the door for blessings to come your way, whereas complaining and being ungrateful closes those same doors. I’ve been keeping a list that I call “A Year of Thanks,” and every single day I write down something that I’m thankful for. It helps to keep me focused on what really matters in life and to keep my eyes on God. I’ll admit that it’s a struggle sometimes to come up with something new every day without repeating myself, but it causes me to do some soul searching. Sometimes all you have to do is just look around your environment, watch the news, read your Bible, and you’ll be sure to come up with something to thank God for. It’s time for our focus to change. It takes nothing to sit and complain, but it takes everything to look past what you feel and see, in order to be thankful. You don’t have to wait until the New Year to start your list…start now! Be thankful TODAY!

I have included some entries from my personal log from the month of October. It’s no secret…I gladly share how good God has been to me and how good He is to me now. My list is currently 15 pages long and I will continue to make note of my gratitude because in actuality, I don’t deserve any of it, and for that I’m thankful. By doing this list I keep my mind on what God is doing instead of what I think He’s not doing, and it helps me to keep things in perspective.

10-10-15/ I am grateful that I have the mind of Christ

10-11-15/ I am grateful that I can think think my own thoughts and not just what comes in my head

10-12-15/ I am grateful that I am beautifully and wonderfully made.

10-13-15/ I am grateful for the opportunity to pray. It’s truly a privilege

10-14-15/ I am grateful for life

10-15-15/ I’m grateful for being able to wake up and go home to a roof over my head and to a family that cares

10-16-15/ I may not always like it, but I’m grateful for when God says “no”

10-17-15/ I’m grateful that I don’t have to live in a spirit of fear

10-18-15/ I am grateful for my relationship with God

I am grateful that I know when to pull back to collect myself and not always do and say what I “feel”

Psalms 34:8 (NLT) says, “Taste and see that the LORD is good. Oh, the joys of those who take refuge in him!” What better way to keep track of God’s goodness than a living log. When times get rough, you’ll always have this list to reel you back into reality. God is good ALL the time and in EVERY circumstance, and it’s about time that He gets the glory, honor, and adoration that He deserves from His children. So I ask you, what are you thankful for today?

Leave a Reply

