You Won’t Figure out God’s Ways

frustrated-woman-computer-shutterstock

God made everything, and you can no more understand what he does than you understand how new life begins in the womb of a pregnant woman.

Ecclesiastes 11:5 GNT

We can prevent a lot of unwanted stress in our lives if we just learn to trust God. He is the ruler over all, and because of this, He is free to do whatever He pleases whenever He decides to do so. Our job is to know that everything that God allows to happen will eventually work out for our good. We don’t have to understand everything that He does when we truly know that He has our best interest at heart. Trying to figure out what God is doing, or better yet, what we think He’s not doing, will only stress you out. Our minds our finite and can only see what’s in front of us right now, whereas God’s wisdom is infinite, and He knows the end from the beginning. He doesn’t operate or think the way we think, which is more reason why we shouldn’t try to figure out what He is doing. Isaiah 55:8-9 (MSG) paints the picture perfectly:  

“I don’t think the way you think.
The way you work isn’t the way I work.”
God’s Decree.
“For as the sky soars high above earth,
so the way I work surpasses the way you work,
and the way I think is beyond the way you think.”

I love the saying, “Trusting God means having unanswered questions,” because it’s true in every sense of the word, and it’s refreshing to the soul. I’ve learned through experience that everything isn’t meant for me to understand. I had a hard time with this because I’m the type of person that needs to have the answers laid out and have all my ducks in a row. I had to realize that if I am going to let God do the driving in my life, I have to sit in the passenger seat and trust that He’s taking me to the proper destination, even if I don’t understand all the routes we’re taking. You may not understand why God says no to some things when you want the answer to be yes, and why He permits certain tests and trials to happen; but in actuality, sometimes it’s not meant for you to understand. It’s meant for you to say, “Lord, even though I don’t understand what’s going on right now, I trust you to work it out for my good, and to help me endure it with a good attitude. I’ll still continue to praise you even in my confusion.”

Stop trying to figure out your life on your own, and most importantly, stop trying to figure out what God is or is not doing. You will save yourself a lot of headaches if you just trust God completely! John 13:7 (NLT) is a beautiful scripture to memorize in those times where you just don’t understand why things are happening, and you’re still trying to have faith: “Jesus replied, “You don’t understand now what I am doing, but someday you will.” His plan is perfect, whether you see it right now or not! Just trust Him.

Leave a Reply

