How to Eliminate Stress Part 1: Ask for Help

asking-for-help

For apart from me you can do nothing.

John 15:5 NLT

We can eliminate a lot of stress in our lives if we truly believe what Jesus said to His disciples…you can’t do anything without Him. I believe people fall into many different categories as to why they try to handle life on their own. I know for me personally, even though I always knew about God, I really didn’t know that I can go to Him for everything, and because of this, I didn’t. Once you truly know what you have, the need to be independent and do everything yourself subsides because you realize that no matter what you do, if God isn’t in it, it won’t work. When we try to do what only God can do, not only do we mess things up, but we cause unnecessary stress on ourselves. 

In order to receive help, you must first recognize that you need it. The next step is to ask for it. The Bible is full of scriptures regarding this area. James 4:2 says you have not because you ask not. Hebrews 4:16 says that we are to come boldly to the throne of grace in order to get the help that we need. In Jeremiah 32:27, God asks, is anything too hard for me? In both Mark and Matthew, Jesus says that all things are possible with God. In Matthew 11:28, Jesus says to come to Him if you are weary and carrying heavy burdens. Life is too much to handle for the person without God, but because God lives in the people who believe in His Son, those are the ones that conquer life with God’s help instead of life conquering them (see Isaiah 54:17).

Look back on the situations that you tried to handle on your own. How did that work out for you? If you didn’t need Jesus’ help, God wouldn’t have saw the need to send Him to die for you. God is concerned about every single area of your life; and if you will just ask Him to help you, He will. One of the most powerful prayers that you can pray on a daily basis is, “Lord, help me please. I can’t do this without you.” The this could be anything from homework, raising a child, dealing with coworkers, cooking, picking the right job, choosing a mate, deciding on what to eat, etc. God does not turn a deaf ear when His children are asking for His assistance. He already knows that you need the help, but when the utterance comes from your lips, He gets to work.

People have the misconception that God is only reserved for big emergencies. If we seek God’s help on a regular basis, we won’t have many of the emergencies that creep into our lives. I didn’t know this fact until a couple of years ago. I used to only ask God to help bail me out of situations that I felt that I couldn’t handle on my own. Now I realize I can’t handle anything on my own, and I ask for help multiple times a day for EVERYTHING. For example, one day I was doing my hair and I just couldn’t get it to do what I wanted it to do. I ended up very frustrated until I finally put the comb down and said, “Lord, please help me fix my hair because it’s not acting right.” One good shake, a few more strokes of the comb, and my hair fell into place exactly how I wanted it. Now here’s the lesson in that example. If I would have asked God for help in the FIRST place, I wouldn’t have been frustrated. If God didn’t care about helping me with my hair, He wouldn’t have helped me; but He does and He did. You may be thinking, that’s so silly…hair…I have bigger problems. This may be true, but if God will help me with my hair because I asked Him, what makes you think He won’t help you with your issues if you ask Him, no matter how big or small.

There’s nothing wrong with waving your white flag and yelling mayday, realizing that you can’t do it by yourself. Lean on God, ask Him for help, humble yourself to receive it, and let Him do His job. Stop putting yourself in stressful situations when God is here to help you. You need God for everything, and until you realize that, you’re asking for unwanted stress and a frustrated life.

Leave a Reply

