Have You Tried Jesus?

Philip went to look for Nathanael and told him, “We have found the very person Moses and the prophets wrote about! His name is Jesus, the son of Joseph from Nazareth.”

“Nazareth!” exclaimed Nathanael. “Can anything good come from Nazareth?”

“Come and see for yourself,” Philip replied.

John 1:45-46 NLT (emphasis added)

The only way you’ll ever get the full experience of something is to try it out for yourself. Too often we depend on other people’s review, word of mouth, or our own preconceived judgement before deciding to get involved with something ourselves. Just like in John, Nathanael used what he knew about people in Nazareth, which wasn’t anything positive, and decided that this person named Jesus couldn’t be anything good to go see about. He soon later realized, after having some personal experience with God, that something good does in fact come out of Nazareth, but he had to do what Philip suggested, “come and see for yourself.” You are no different, so I ask you today, “Have you tried Jesus for yourself?” 

For the most part, everything that you know you like you had to experience it for yourself. Psalms 34:8 says taste and see that the Lord is good. You have to experience God for yourself. You can’t live off of someone else’s faith, what you see, or what you think you know. You have to enter into a personal, intimate, relationship with God the Father. His invitation is always open for you to join into a relationship with Him. Revelation 3:20 says that Jesus stands at the door knocking, and whoever hears His voice and opens the door He will come in and eat with them. In other words, God will always knock at the door of your heart, but you have to open it and then that’s when the relationship will begin. God sent Jesus to die not only to cleanse us of our sins, but ultimately so we could enter into close fellowship with the Father. Don’t slap God in the face by telling Him that what He did for you was in vain.

God has a tailored made journey just for YOU. Jeremiah 29:11 says “For I know the plans I have for you,” says the LORD. They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.” (NLT). God has a plan for YOU! Just like no one on the face of the Earth has the same DNA, God doesn’t have the same exact plan for all of His children. Your journey will be different from mine, your mother, your friends, etc. If you wake up every morning, God has a plan for you, but in order to know what that plan is, it requires communication which is ultimately what makes a relationship work.

I can tell you from personal experience that God is good. No matter what I’m going through or how bad some situations may seem, God has always taken care of me, protected me, and had His hand on me. I know that I know that I know that God is real and alive. His Word has transformed my life in ways that I can never express in words. I remember my life without God and I know how my life is now with Him, and let me tell you, I wouldn’t go back to my life without Him for all the money in the world. And here’s the point…I wouldn’t be able to write this blog if I hadn’t experienced God for myself. The journey can be rough at times because the flesh wants what it wants and it always wages war against your spirit (see Galatians 5:17), but God is patient and longsuffering. You will make mistakes and He knows that, but His mercy, grace, and forgiveness is always readily available. You don’t have to worry about cleaning yourself up before you go to God, that’s His job and He does a much better job than you could ever do. I was a hot mess when God finally told me “enough!” but He takes us as we are and His Word and discipline transforms us. Ezekiel 11:19 says that God will give you a new spirit and a new heart that will be tender towards Him. Let Him clean you up and make you brand new (see 2 Corinthians 5:17), but you have to come to Him first.

If you want an exciting, awe-struck life, give God a chance. He is a gentleman so He will not force Himself on you. If you don’t want Him, He accepts that because He has given us free-will, but I can tell you that is the absolute worst mistake you will ever make in life. I love the saying, “your worst day with God will be better than your best day without Him.” And here’s the best part, you have nothing to lose with following God but everything to gain. You can’t get a better deal anywhere else on the planet. God never gives up on you, so don’t give up on Him. Make your life better by giving God a shot at making it the best life you’ll ever live!

Leave a Reply

